Midwest regional profile

Find out about the Midwest region, including a map and general overview, locations of major towns and local government areas, building projects, and health profiles for adults and children.


The Midwest health region of Western Australia covers more than 470,000 square kilometres, nearly one fifth of the State, with its population concentrated along the coast.  The region is located in the northern middle section of Western Australia and incorporates four health districts - Gascoyne, Geraldton, Midwest and Murchison.

For more information about the region, please visit the Mid West Development Commission and Gascoyne Development Commission websites.

Towns and local government

Major population centres in the Midwest region are Geraldton, Dongara, Kalbarri, Morawa, Meekatharra, Mullewa, Carnarvon and Exmouth.

Major centres


Distance from Perth

Greater Geraldton


427 km



373 km



765 km



904 km



1,263 km

The population figures relate to Statistical Area Level 2 (SA2) boundaries as defined in the Australian Statistical Geography Standard (ASGS).  Wherever possible, SA2s are based on officially gazetted State suburbs and localities.  In urban areas SA2s largely conform to whole suburbs and combinations of whole suburbs, while in rural areas they define the functional zone of a regional centre.

The region consists of the following local government areas:

Health profiles

Please download the Midwest's Health Profiles form the site Publications page.