Wheatbelt regional profile

Find out about the Wheatbelt region, including a map and general overview, locations of major towns and local government areas, building projects, and health profiles for adults and children.


The Wheatbelt Region of the WA Country Health Service covers the Wheatbelt Region of Western Australia.

The partially surrounds the northern and eastern parts of the Perth metropolitan area. It extends north from Perth, and is bordered by the Indian Ocean to the west, where it meets the Midwest region. The Wheatbelt extends east from the metropolitan area to the mining dominated, Goldfields-Esperance region. The region is also bordered by the Peel, the South West and Great Southern regions on its south-west and southern borders.

The region covers 155,256 sq km (including islands) of the state and contains the majority of the State's grain growing areas.

The Wheatbelt's economy has historically been based on agriculture, particularly cropping - which remains the most dominant industry in the region - but it is also supported by mining, commerce, manufacturing, fishing and tourism.

More information about the Wheatbelt region is available on the Wheatbelt Development Commission website.

Towns and local government

The Wheatbelt is made up of 43 Local Government Authorities.  The major population centres in the Wheatbelt region are the towns of Northam, Narrogin, Merredin and Moora.

Major centres


Distance from Perth



97 km



192 km



259 km



174 km

The population figures relate to Statistical Area Level 2 (SA2) boundaries as defined in the Australian Statistical Geography Standard (ASGS).  Wherever possible, SA2s are based on officially gazetted State suburbs and localities.  In urban areas SA2s largely conform to whole suburbs and combinations of whole suburbs, while in rural areas they define the functional zone of a regional centre.

Health profiles

Please download the Wheatbelt's Health Profile from the site Publications page.