17.01.2020 09:45 Age: 209 days

WA Country Health Service staff recognised for excellence in Rural Health Awards

Western Australian Rural Health Awards campaign.

Eighteen health professionals from across the WA Country Health Service (WACHS) have been shortlisted for the 2020 WA Rural Health Awards.

The annual awards recognise the incredible contributions of rural health professionals in fields such as general practice, clinical leadership, and education.

Rural Health West and WACHS host the awards to acknowledge the critical role health professionals play in supporting the ongoing health, vitality and sustainability of rural communities across Western Australia.

WACHS Chief Executive Jeff Moffet said it was pleasing to see the evolution of the program, previously known as the Country Doctors Awards, with the addition of categories to acknowledge and recognise a broader range of health professionals.

WACHS Board member Dr Kim Isaacs is among the health professionals recognised for excellence as a finalist in the Clinical Leadership Award category for her work with the Kimberley Aboriginal Medical Service.

“Congratulations to the deserving finalists, across all categories, who are making outstanding contributions to improving health outcomes for the communities in which they live and work,” Mr Moffet said. 

Rural Health West Chief Executive Officer, Tim Shackleton said many health professionals across WA are passionate advocates for rural health, which is reflected in the broad representation of finalists.

“The Rural Health Awards are an important way of recognising the commitment, dedication and passion of all of the health professionals nominated,” Mr Shackleton said.




Ms Zoe Ashby-Deering

Building Healthy Country Communities

The Wheatbelt Tackling Indigenous Smoking Team

Dr David Atkinson

Rural Researcher or Educator Award

The Rural Clinical School of WA, Broome

Dr Joanne Baker

GP of the Year

Kimberley Medical Group, Broome

Ms Bridie Costelloe and

Ms Tracy Hunter

Building Healthy Country Communities

Tele-Chemotheraphy Karratha Health Campus

Mrs Jessica Curnuck

Rising Star Award

Boyup Brook MPS

Ms Jenny Cutter

Clinical Leadership Award

Kimberley Renal Services, Broome

Dr Dave Forster

Rural Researcher or Educator Award


Procedural GP /District Medical Officer of the Year

WACHS Broome Hospital

Mrs Helen Freeman

Rural Nurse/Midwife of the Year


Esperance Hospital

Dr Rafiq Hemani


Specialist of the Year

Kalgoorlie Regional Hospital

Dr Wei-Sen Lam


Metropolitan-based Bush Champion

WACHS and South Metropolitan Health Service

Mrs Helen Lundy

Rural Nurse/Midwife of the Year

WACHS Wheatbelt

Dr Kim Isaacs

Clinical Leadership Award

Kimberley Aboriginal Medical Service, Broome

Dr Vernon Powell

Procedural GP /District Medical Officer of the Year

WACHS Kununurra Hospital

Ms Santana Rose

Rising Star Award


WACHS Kimberley Mental Health and Drug Service

Dr Stephanie


Rural Researcher or Educator

WACHS - Albany Health Campus

Dr Phoebe Thornton

Rising Star Award

Great Southern Mental Health Service

Dr Stephanie Trust

GP of the Year

Kununurra Medical Clinic

The finalists were nominated by colleagues, peers and community members for their significant contributions and outstanding commitment to rural health.

Finalists were selected by a panel of clinicians and representatives from rural and health organisations.

The winners will be announced at an awards ceremony held during the WA Rural Health Conference on Saturday 21 March.