

# RN, RM & Mental Health EN District-specific Benefits

## **General Benefits**

In addition to the benefits offered to all enrolled nurses and assistants-in-nursing, each employment district in the WA Country Health Service offers its own special benefits, subject to the *Australian Nursing Federation–WA Health Industrial Agreement 2007*<sup>1</sup>:

Benefits	District 1	District 2	District 3	District 4	District 5	District 6
Additional annual leave					х	x
(1 additional week)						
Annual leave travel concessions <sup>2</sup>			х	х	х	х
Annual leave travel time	x	x		x <sup>3</sup>		
(if headquarters situated 240 km or more from						
Perth GPO)						
District allowance <sup>4</sup>	$\mathbf{x}^{5}$	х		x	х	x
Additional professional development leave	x	x	x	x	x	x
(1 extra day if working 200-400 km from Perth						
General Post Office, 2 days if working more than						
400 km from GPO)						
Retention allowance	x	x	x			
(\$1,200 after 18 months, applicable to Merredin &						
Midwest Health Services only)						
Rural gratuity <sup>5</sup>		x	x	x	x	x
(8 weeks pay after 2 years, then 4 weeks pay						
annually)						
Child allowance	·				х	x
(\$100 per child, maximum \$400)						
Southeast travel concessions:						
<ul> <li>Kalgoorlie-Boulder &amp; South East Health</li> </ul>		х				

Services				
<ul> <li>Laverton/Leonora &amp; Murchison Health Services</li> </ul>		x		

#### Notes:

- 1. Please view the Industrial Agreement on the Department of Health Awards and Agreements Library.
- 2. For eligibility and travel concession amounts see clause 31 of the Industrial Agreement.
- 3. Applicable to the portion of District 4 north of the 30<sup>th</sup> parallel.
- 4. For the value of allowance see Clause 49 of the Industrial Agreement.
- 5. Applicable to Jerramungup only.
- 6. Depending on location will receive 75% or 100% of defined gratuity. For eligibility see clause 58 of the Industrial Agreement.

### **Remote Area Benefits**

The following benefits apply to Remote Area Nursing (RAN) posts in **Districts 1, 2, 5 & 6** only<sup>1</sup>:

- Isolation leave (1 additional week of leave every 12 weeks)
- Remote area availability allowance<sup>2</sup>
- Remote area overtime allowance (25% base salary)
- Remote area staff development (additional 2 weeks in-service training: 1 week in major centre, funded travel, accommodation and daily allowance)
- Remote area travel allowance (transport to and from airport, with leave).

The following benefits apply to portions of **Districts 3 and 4** north of the 26<sup>th</sup> parallel only<sup>3</sup>:

Benefits	District 3	District 4
Additional annual leave	Х	Х
(1 additional week)		
Child allowance	Х	X
(\$100 per child, maximum \$400)		
Isolation leave <sup>5</sup>		X
(1 additional week of leave every 12 weeks)		
Remote area availability allowance <sup>4</sup>		X
Remote area overtime allowance <sup>4</sup>		X
(25% base salary)		

Remote area staff development <sup>4</sup>	Х
(additional 2 weeks in-service training: 1 week in	
major centre, funded travel, accommodation and	
daily allowance)	
Remote area travel allowance <sup>4</sup>	Х
(transport to and from airport, with leave)	

#### Notes:

- 1. District 1 posts include Abrolhos Island & Cervantes.
  - District 2 posts include Bremer Bay & Lake Varley.
  - District 5 posts include Balgo Hills, Billiluna, Dodnun, Kunawarritji, Looma, Marble Bar, Mulan, Noonkenbah, Nullagine, Parnngurr, Punmu, Strelley Station, Warralong, Wangkatjunka, Yandeyarra.
  - District 6 posts include Dodnun, Gibb River Station, Imintji, Kalumbaru, Lombadina, Mount Barnett, Mount Elizabeth, Mount House, One Arm Point, Oombulgurri, Warmun.
- 2. A remote area nurse shall receive an Availability Allowance of 50% of the "on call" allowance prescribed by clause 28(9) of the Industrial Agreement for all hours outside ordinary and overtime hours actually worked.
- 3. District 3 locations include Denham, Faure Island, François Peron National Park & Monkey Mia only.

  District 4 locations include Carnarvon, Gascoyne Junction, Wooramel, Kumarina, Warakurna and surrounding areas.
- 4. Applies to RAN Burringurrah, Coonana & Tjuntjunjurra only.